The doyley of pain

Doyley of painSo I’m asked to describe how I concentrate to write or focus on anything when pain is such a major contributor in my life and a permanent.  I thought about it for a second.  The doctor had used the whiteboard and drawn “my brain” with pain in the background and words like focus, concentration, motivation scribbled at the front with arrows looking like they were trying to get into my brain. Understandably these things all present a challenge but the way I see it, is that the pain is like an intricate piece of lace that is draped across my brain.  In between the detailed lacy gaps things like concentration, motivation and focus do filter through.  And depending on how tight the stitching is sometimes it is easier for those things to flow through and other times not so much.  This might make sense to some of you – I’m not sure.

Also I’m not big on the word hope.  I don’t want hope – I want it sorted now or I will just live with it until some such miracle cure arrives – but I’m not spending my life or any time at all with the hope that I will be fine again.  It is what it is.  They say hope is a word used for people who don’t want to accept.  That is not who I want to be – I know a part of me longs for my body to be pain free but that is just not how it is.

I believe that determination comes from my soul and I will carve my way through whatever it is the universe chooses to share with me and be grateful at the same time – because even though I can’t walk very far, I can write – just a different double u (w)…. 🙂

© Kait King, 2015

23 thoughts on “The doyley of pain

  1. Stay strong – your writing is beautiful and many time resonates with how I am feeling. Thank you for that.
    My writing is inspired by my pain – relationships. I am thankful that this type of pain may be debilitating at first but it eventually makes you stronger and hopefully smarter. I feel for you and the physical pain you deal with everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you so much – yeah, life’s a bitch sometimes 😉 I do know I’m so blessed with my family and where I live and oh so many more blessings – just this one thing….but it’s made a writer out of me I believe – or at least a writer in progress! Blessings, love and light to you and yours, thank you for your empathy and understanding xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The doyley of pain – Truth Troubles: Why people hate the truths' of the real world

    • Oh thank you so much! 🙂 Well it’s a chronic acute neurological damage from two failed surgeries – first one was my intercostal nerve that got damaged during surgery for a collapsed lung – performed by an unqualified person!! 😦 Second one was failed back surgery, supposed to be minor but ended up being major instead! So got the first one under control after about 5 years and battling with 2013 surgery which re-ignited nerve damage from my chest in ’98 – so have a bad story – and apparently inoperable and permanent…Had all these blood tests etc done to find out if I had anything that predisposed me to a disease causing my pain etc – but no, 100% healthy except for what some surgeon or two has done to damage me. That’s crap coz really I should be fine…. So in a nutshell – I’m screwed lol – I can only write, thank the universe, as I would be devastated and quite possibly dead by now! Thank you so much for your words of inspiration 🙂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

