Loss/values

People experience loss in very different ways.  People experience what they value differently too.  Depending on what you are taught to value, is how you will experience that loss.  If, when growing up, you are taught the difference between giving, taking and sharing we form a basis for understanding value. If you are taught to value money and possessions, that these things make you the person you are, things define you.  What if you go bankrupt and lose everything – will you commit suicide?  Money and success has represented you and your life.

But if money was not the valued commodity and family was – if you lost everything materialistic, wouldn’t your family or friends  have the  most important value to you, not your image of success? Family and friends are there when nothing and nobody else is…

How do you define yourself?  What is really important to you? How do you represent yourself in the world?

Just food for thought….

6 thoughts on “Loss/values

  1. I think how we define ourselves is a very big part of how we view our success. For a long time I felt that I needed to be defined by a career title. Then, when I became a mom and was with my daughter and temporarily put career stuff on hold, I got depressed. Then, I had to remind that I am more than my career and degrees.

    I no longer try to define myself based on any sort of labels, I find happiness is inside of us absent of any definition or label. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

